Nov 8 2013

Protect Your Mobile Information

Location SettingsMost of us are inseparable from our smartphones. We share pictures as we go about our day, tweet out the articles we’ve enjoyed, keep track of our bank accounts on the go, and ask Siri or Google for directions.

All of that activity helps us get our daily tasks done and stay in touch with friends and family; however, it can also leave a data trail for those who would use our information for more malicious purposes.

Internet security experts recommend that you selectively disable geotagging on your phone, so that you’re not giving out your location every time you share a picture or a status update, while still being able to use your maps applications to get directions.

To do this on an iPhone:

1. Open Settings.

2. Select Privacy and then Location Services.

3. Turn off Location Services for your camera and any additional apps that you do not want to have access to your location data (social media, etc.)

Instructions for how to do this on an Android phone will vary by device.

By removing geotagging on your photos, they will no longer contain data indicating where the picture was taken—data that can reveal your home address, work address, favorite shops, and more. This gives you more control over who has access to your personal information.

ConnectU with Consumers on white

Share on Google+0Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on Twitter0Pin on Pinterest0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Reddit0Share on StumbleUpon0Share on TumblrEmail this to someone

Leave a Comment